Thursday, May 11, 2006


Press release from: Alliance for Sustainability

Press release from: Alliance for Sustainability

Request for Nominations for Second Annual Sustainability Awards

(CSRwire) MINNEAPOLIS – The Alliance for Sustainability is requesting nominations for the Second Annual Sustainability Awards to be given at a Gala Celebration at the Historic Fitzgerald Theatre, home of Garrison Keillor’s Prairie Home Companion, in St. Paul, Minnesota on Monday evening, September 25, 2006.

“The Second Annual Sustainability Awards and Symposium provide the opportunity to recognize individuals, organizations and communities that have been exemplary leaders and made significant contributions to sustainability—creating a world that is ecologically sound, economically viable, socially just and humane,” said Alliance for Sustainability President and Event Co-Chair Terry Gips.

A distinguished Awards Advisory Board will review the nominations and make recommendations to the Alliance Board which will announce the recipients on World Environment Day, June 5.

“Our previous recipients demonstrate the impressive diversity of sustainability,” said event Co-Chair Dawn Erlandson. “We hope people will consider nominating their favorite heroes and sheroes.”

Previous recipients inspiring author Frances Moore Lappé, artist Peter Max, Aveda Corporation Founder Horst Rechelbacher, Native-American activist Winona LaDuke, Seventh Generation Corporation, musician Larry Long, Minnesota Sustainable Community Network, University of Texas Medical Branch Galveston, the Green Institute and The Intervale.

Nominations may be submitted by Friday, May 19 by any individual, organization or community (including self-nominations) at Nominees can address any aspect(s) of sustainability, including Food, Agriculture, Business, Labor, Government, Nonprofit, Community, Media, Arts, Culture, Philanthropy, Education, Academia, Faith/Spirituality, Health, Design, Planning, Architecture, Environmental Justice and Law.

Recipients will be expected to attend the award ceremonies and the half-day Sustainability Symposium held the next morning. All costs for travel, food and lodging will be covered.

Sponsors of the Awards and the Sustainability Symposium the following morning include Utne Magazine, Aveda Corporation, Seventh Generation, Piper Jaffray, CSRwire, E – The Environmental Magazine, Gift Works by Mission Research, Mal Warwick Associates, Ayurceutics, Eureka Recycling, Portfolio 21, Indigenous Designs, Jedlicka Design, Baltix Furniture, Rancho La Puerta Spa, Dolphin Blue, Progressive Asset Management, Gegax Family Foundation, University Bank, and Sustainability Associates. Additional sponsors are welcome.

The Alliance for Sustainability was founded in 1983 and has been one of the original proponents of sustainability, developing a widely used four-part definition. Its mission is to bring about personal, organizational and planetary sustainability. It has partnered with diverse business, government and non-profit groups to create the CERES Principles, Living Green Expo, and Congregations Caring for Creation, as well as numerous public policies. It offers trainings on Sustainability and the Natural Step Framework and has an e-newsletter Manna, website, numerous publications, a Sustainability Resource Center, and an excellent internship program.

For more information or a free membership, contact Event Coordinator Karen Engelsen at the Alliance for Sustainability, In the Hillel Center at the University of Minnesota, 1521 University Ave. SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414; 612-331-1099,,

In the Hillel Center, University of Minnesota, 1521 University Ave SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414


No comments: